Ratings and Reviews

Customer Reviews for 5 Serving Classic Plate Grill

5 Serving Classic Plate Grill

Large silver grill for grilling inside your kitchen. Cook a variety of foods and enjoy better, more precise results with the Vari-Temp Grill. With the 80 Sq. In. cooking surface, you have enough space to cook for up to 5 people at once without a hassle, so it's the perfect size for a family of three. The attractive, brushed stainless exterior looks great on any counter and matches well with modern décor. If you're looking for a sleek grill that will feed a smaller family and accommodate a variety of menu options with great results, look no further!
Average Customer Rating:
3.375 / 5
3.4
 / 
5
(8 Reviews) 8
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Snapshot 8 reviews
5 stars
3
4 stars
1
3 stars
0
2 stars
4
1 star
0
4 out of 8(50%)reviewers would recommend this product.
Customer Reviews for 5 Serving Classic Plate Grill
Review 1 for 5 Serving Classic Plate Grill
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

The Perfect GF Grill with On Switch & Temp ctrl!!

PostedFebruary 22, 2012
Customer Avatar
Shunter
from Zionsville, IN
Gender: Male
Gift Purchase: For myself
1st Purchase or Replacement: Replacement
Cook For Others: Yes
People Cooking For: 1-2
I purchased this Grill to Replace my 8 year-old George Foreman Super-Champ GR18BWT. [50+ sq. inch w/Bun-Warmer - Blue]
I Wanted this New GF Grill, cause: A) It has a Power Switch, and
B) It has a Temp-Control Dial!
This One is Also larger, and it's Stainless Steel! :^)
[As of 2012, they are All Stainless-Steel with slightly different Temp-Control markings than the one Pictured]
*I didn't want one with Removable Trays, because of the poor Reviews*
I would rather have a Grill that Cooks Food correctly, instead of Easier Cleanup.
I was Excited to Receive my New Bigger, Nicer GF Grill!
When I opened the Box, I checked out everything. The Temp-Control Dial had different Markings, and it felt just abit loose when I turned it for the first time. It was Actually in the 50% Temp Position.
When I sat it on the counter, I actually took Notice of how Beautiful it was! The Stainless-Steel actually looked very Sharp in the Kitchen.
When I Fired it up for the first time using the Power Switch, it felt kinda Nice not to have to mess with the Plug for once! The Food actually started Sizzling much Faster than I Expected! And the Thermostat kicked-off and stayed that way for awhile. What I found was, that Chicken cooks Much Better & Tastier at the 50% Mark, even though it takes slightly longer than it would at Max Power!
That the Half-way Temperature setting means Less Mess & Cleanup time!
I also went ahead, and did some Quesadilla's. They tasted Better than Ever! [At 50% Temp]
This Grill is so Perfect for Sandwiches too, cause you can turn the Temp down, so that is doesn't burn the bread! That's something I couldn't do with the old one I had.
I Recommend this Grill for people who want an ON / OFF Switch & a TEMP CONTROL Setting. This is also the Perfect Size for Couples & up to 4 Burgers. I Really like how this GF Grill doesn't use much space on the Counter, yet it has plenty of space inside it to cook 2 Good-Sized Steaks!
Something about the Handle really sets this Grill apart from other Models. It's the most Eye-pleasing Foreman Grill I've ever seen. So far, it just works Great! Cleanup is just what you would Expect in a Foreman Grill - Use a Wet Paper Towel to Wipe it Clean when done. I try to clean the Grill while its still Hot or at least Warm. I Also put a Folded Paper-Towel in the Catch-Tray to absorb grease. Seems to work Best with Chicken. Steak & Burgers can fill the tray more, but I still use a Paper Towel in the bottom to help with Cleanup.
So far, I give this Foreman Grill an 'A'. It makes you Realize just how Good Food can Taste, when you take the Time to do it Right... With Temp Control!
+5points
5of 5voted this as helpful.
Review 2 for 5 Serving Classic Plate Grill
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

A versatile product at a great price

PostedDecember 1, 2011
Customer Avatar
Charlie
from Little Rock, AR
Gender: Male
Gift Purchase: For myself
1st Purchase or Replacement: Replacement
Cook For Others: Yes
People Cooking For: 1-2
I bought one of the first generation "George's" over a decade ago. Five years ago, I bought a 144-sq. in. "George" that seemed a bit cumbersome for my small kitchen counter. A week ago, we purchased this model, our third "George." A perfect fit! Sits next to my coffee maker. Though some have critiqued the On/Off switch being placed where someone can get burned, I've found that's not the case at all. Another critique was that it slid on a smooth counter. I placed a dish towel underneath (which protects the counter anyway from accidental drip), and have had no slippage. The heating surface heats up rapidly, and the variable temperature adjustment allows for "browning' all the way up to "well done." The handle design allows for opening and closing, while keeping the hands a safer distance from the heating surface. Ideal for toasted sandwiches, grilling suasage, salmon, pork chops, and the usual burger and steak fare. Wiping with a damp cloth shortly after each use keeps it in top shape. This model proves you don't need a humongous cooking surface to accomplish a lot, and revolutionizes counter top cooking.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 3 for 5 Serving Classic Plate Grill
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Love it!

PostedMay 13, 2011
Customer Avatar
fishes305
from San Diego, CA
Gender: Female
Gift Purchase: For myself
1st Purchase or Replacement: First-Time Purchase
Cook For Others: Yes
People Cooking For: 3-4
I love my George Foreman grill. Hamburgers and chicken always taste great. As for the clean up I place wet paper towels on the grill while I'm eating and then everything wipes off easily.
+9points
9of 9voted this as helpful.
Comments (2)
Comments (2)
Customer Avatar
Anonymous
Posted March 1, 2012
Thanks for the towel tip! I am about to grill some salmon for lunch. did steak last night, the first steak I grilled, a week ago, was thicker and it was done perfectly, Last night it was thinner and I over cooked it, still it was good and I am smarter. Potatoes, and asparagus have met my approval on the grill. I will be using it more.
0points
0of 0voted this comment as helpful.
Customer Avatar
Anonymous
Darby Montana
Medicine Woman Says
Posted June 8, 2011
I barbeque rib eye steaks in Montana outside all the time. But when our family was staying in a condo in Key Largo Florida, I found a George Foreman Grill. Wow in 5 minutes our large fish was done and during the week I cooked spicy sausages and kobasica in only 7 minutes done perfect. I miss it now because it took over 30 minutes trying to cook the sausages tonight at another beach condo and smoke everywhere. So I am going to buy a George Foreman grill when I get back to Montana.
+1point
1of 1voted this comment as helpful.
Comments (2)
Comments (2)
Review 4 for 5 Serving Classic Plate Grill
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5

Great grilling

PostedApril 15, 2011
Customer Avatar
grillfun
from Chicago Illinois
Gender: Female
Gift Purchase: For myself
1st Purchase or Replacement: First-Time Purchase
Cook For Others: Yes
People Cooking For: 3-4
This is my first Foreman grill. I have made steaks, hamburgers, grilled vegies and chicken. The taste of the food is superb! No added oils. It is perfect for 3 adults. There is a temp control so for vegies the temp can be turned down. The food is cooked evenly and quickly. The only complaint, the non removable plates.
+4points
4of 4voted this as helpful.
Comment (1)
Comments (1)
Customer Avatar
Anonymous
Minneapolis, MinneSNOWta
Second George Foreman grill
Posted December 1, 2011
I inherited an old George Foreman grill from my dad in 1999 and used it often. As it was old, it was wearing out. In 2010 I got a new one (mod GR0080s) for Christmas. It is less than one year later and the Teflon coating is peeling off in places. I have NEVER used any utensils on it at all. Other than food, the only thing that touched the surface was a wet cloth. I am disappointed that it didn't even last a year as the old one lasted for more than a decade.
0points
0of 0voted this comment as helpful.
Comments (1)
Comment (1)
Review 5 for 5 Serving Classic Plate Grill
Overall rating 
2 / 5
2 / 5

NEVER HAD ONE LIKE THIS!

PostedDecember 3, 2013
Customer Avatar
nak2020
from Rochester, PA, USA
Gender: Female
Gift Purchase: For myself
1st Purchase or Replacement: First-Time Purchase
Cook For Others: Yes
People Cooking For: 1-2
I got this about 1 and half year ago,before had a smaller one,but the old one worked better,was smaller and kept a steady temp,,but this one the little plastic light fell off,,had to glue it back on,,then the knob,I DO NOT THINK IT WORKS!!??steaks are terrible on this,just saying!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 6 for 5 Serving Classic Plate Grill
Overall rating 
2 / 5
2 / 5

Cooks great, pain to clean

PostedAugust 20, 2011
Customer Avatar
Batman122ci
from Maryland
Gender: Male
Gift Purchase: For myself
1st Purchase or Replacement: First-Time Purchase
Cook For Others: Yes
People Cooking For: 1-2
My wife convinced me to purchase a George Foreman grill product for the first time and I must say this grill really cooks well. We've done burgers, salmon, and steak and all have come out juicy and very hot. Unfortunately, I can't give this specific model a high rating due to the cleanup that is required. The grill plates are not removable and requires a lot of time and effort in order to clean them without submerging the entire unit in water. Like others have said it takes longer to clean the grill then cooking the food and in the process I end up making a mess in the kitchen. I'm returning this and will purchase another model that has removable plates that are easy to clean.
+4points
4of 4voted this as helpful.
Comments (2)
Comments (2)
Customer Avatar
Anonymous
Steve
Posted February 13, 2012
No - Don't Return it...
What you will Find, is that other GF Grills with the Removable Plates don't cook the food thoroughly, and take allot longer to Cook.
The Trick is Simple:
Use Damp Paper Towels or Cleaning Cloths/Rags to Clean the Grill when it's Hot. The Major Key here is, cleaning it when its still somewhat Hot.
I've found this works pretty well with Chicken and most White Meats. If your doing say, Steak Burgers, you will have allot more Grease that comes out of the Burgers. This adds to the Cleanup.
But Trust assure: It's not easy to be a Great Cook.
If it Was, it's wouldn't be Great.
I know that may be against the whole 'Convenience' thing. But if often times whats Convenient isn't all that Good [like the Microwave], you have to take the Extra Effot of making it Better.
0points
0of 0voted this comment as helpful.
Customer Avatar
Anonymous
Not that much of a pain for me
Posted November 30, 2011
It takes me 10 minutes to clean it, no matter what I cooked on it. If you clean it while it's still hot, it cleans so fast and easy. I use a soft sponge soaked in hot water and scrub it. If it is already cold and got a lot of fat or food on it, I scrap it with the plastic spatula. I hate cleaning it, but it's really not that bad :)
0points
0of 0voted this comment as helpful.
Comments (2)
Comments (2)
Review 7 for 5 Serving Classic Plate Grill
Overall rating 
2 / 5
2 / 5

Not thrilled with this grill

PostedJuly 18, 2011
Customer Avatar
GrillBopete
from Kansas
Gender: Female
Gift Purchase: For myself
1st Purchase or Replacement: First-Time Purchase
Cook For Others: Yes
People Cooking For: 1-2
While this grill does a good job of cooking burgers, chicken, etc etc, cleaning it is such a pain that I'm not sure I want to keep it. I misread the box (my fault) where it said "Dishwasher safe accessories" as "Dishwasher safe" and "accessories" were on two different lines (misleading).
+2points
2of 2voted this as helpful.
Review 8 for 5 Serving Classic Plate Grill
Overall rating 
2 / 5
2 / 5

works good but cleaning a problem

PostedJanuary 11, 2011
Customer Avatar
s2
from Del Rio, TX
Gender: Male
Gift Purchase: For myself
1st Purchase or Replacement: First-Time Purchase
Cook For Others: Yes
People Cooking For: 1-2
Used for first time. Cooked steak and it worked OK. Then came time to clean. Grills are not removable. Can't immerse in water. Cleaning took longer than it took to cook the steak. If cleanup is a pain, probably will think twice before using it.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.