Ratings and Reviews

Customer Reviews for 9 Serving Classic Plate Grill

9 Serving Classic Plate Grill

Large silver grill for electric grilling indoors. Get all the space you need to cook leaner for up to 9 people with our largest indoor contact grill. The 133 Sq. In. grilling surface easily fits up to 9 servings, with even heat from the center to the sides of the plate with our Signature Foreman heating elements. Our patented sloped design and George Tough™ nonstick coating allow you to cook without oil or butter while fat and grease drain off for leaner meals in minutes. The grill includes a dishwasher safe drip tray for added convenience.
Average Customer Rating:
3.214 / 5
3.2
 / 
5
(14 Reviews) 14
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Snapshot 14 reviews
5 stars
5
4 stars
1
3 stars
3
2 stars
2
1 star
3
8 out of 14(57%)reviewers would recommend this product.
Customer Reviews for 9 Serving Classic Plate Grill
Review 1 for 9 Serving Classic Plate Grill
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Worth Every Penny!

PostedMay 27, 2013
Customer Avatar
ame42
I don't have this particular model but I do have a large grill like it. I absolutely love it. I can cook a pound of bacon on it by folding each piece in half and so everyone can eat at the same time and no one has to wait and nothing is cold. If it's greasy I always cook it on my Foreman grill. I've used mine so much the coating is starting to wear off. It's been about 5 years so now I'm shopping for another large grill. When I see what's in the drip tray I'm so glad that's not in my stomach and my boyfriend and I don't feel guilty about eating a couple extra pieces of bacon. I highly recommend this product.
-1point
0of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 2 for 9 Serving Classic Plate Grill
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Excellent for indoor grilling!

PostedJune 9, 2011
Customer Avatar
AvaAdore83
Gender: Female
Gift Purchase: For myself
1st Purchase or Replacement: First-Time Purchase
Cook For Others: Yes
People Cooking For: 3-4
I live in an apartment and we can't have outside grills, so this was the next best thing! It cooks everything just right and everything stays juicy as well. Clean up is actually a breeze. I see alot of reviews about the clean up part of it. Trick is, when it cools off to a warm temperature, put a wet paper towel in it and close the lid. Leave it for about 15 or so minutes, and even the stuck on stuff wipes right off, best trick i have learned by having one of these grills. I love it!
+12points
12of 12voted this as helpful.
Review 3 for 9 Serving Classic Plate Grill
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Healthy made easy

PostedFebruary 18, 2011
Customer Avatar
HomeBistro
from New Brunswick, Canada
Gender: Female
User submitted photo
Each of the 3 of us in this home have different health issues, so diet is a factor. Since I enjoy cooking, taking the time to do it right is a treat. My husband gave this grill to me as a gift and I've had some fun teasing him about my collection of kitchen "power tools". When time is a factor, however, it's great that I can get a good meal prepared so quickly. I like that it is so easy to use, heats up quickly, and it's so simple to clean. Even the "hot spots" on the grill are predictable so I can place thicker portions for even cooking.
This isn't saying that there can't be a few improvements. Because of the speed of cooking, I have to be very attentive to avoid over-cooking. The manual already warned me about that. I can also appreciate wanting to keep it simple to use, although a thermostat isn't such a complicated addition. I would also make the spatula a little longer and more sturdy. I think my last suggestion may seem trivial to some, but when your hands are that close to something that hot, you want some safety and reliability in your utensils when you are working with food. So - I created one (see photo).
All in all, an excellent addition to my kitchen and it's already provided several main courses and I hope many more to come!
+6points
6of 6voted this as helpful.
Review 4 for 9 Serving Classic Plate Grill
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Wonderful Product!

PostedDecember 26, 2010
Customer Avatar
tif
Wonderful!!!...even and fast cooking in minutes, no mess and very easy clean up.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 5 for 9 Serving Classic Plate Grill
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

PostedDecember 21, 2010
Customer Avatar
ezmeals
Gender: Male
Gift Purchase: For myself
1st Purchase or Replacement: First-Time Purchase
Cook For Others: Yes
People Cooking For: 1-2
Loved this grill it cooks even was able to put 2 large steaks. potatoes bacon and onions, and was amazed at how evenly and quickly it was absolutely delicious. I have used other george foreman grills but this size is awesome. Looking forward to trying the 360 with different plates, and the cleanup is easy as pie.....
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Comment (1)
Comments (1)
Customer Avatar
Anonymous
NEVER BUY THIS GRILL
Posted March 26, 2012
it does not come apart for cleaning and stinks up th entire houe while it is warming up...............
0points
0of 0voted this comment as helpful.
Comments (1)
Comment (1)
Review 6 for 9 Serving Classic Plate Grill
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5

Great Grill

PostedAugust 5, 2011
Customer Avatar
Abby
Gender: Female
Gift Purchase: As a gift
Kind of Gift: Birthday
I received this as a gift and love it. I use it to cook most of our meals in. I have had no problems cleaning the grill like other reviews have stated. The main thing that I did when I first got it was wash it off with a soft cloth and mild soap. I then coated the plates with vegetable oil and let that soak for about five minutes. The grill soaked up most of the oil. I then washed the excess oil off and let it set over night. The next day I plugged it in, and cooked on it no problem. I have not used any spray oils and it even states do not use those in the instructions. It leaves a residue and it makes it really hard to clean. I have been using it now for over a month and I have not had to add any more oil to it at all when I cook. The food doesn't stick to it and it is really easy to clean. I am able to clean it in about 5 mintues, even with chicken, pork, bacon, veggies, hamburgers, sausage, hotdogs. Just about anything you can think of and it cleans quickly and easily. JUST DON"T USE SPRAY OILS ON IT!
+6points
6of 6voted this as helpful.
Comment (1)
Comments (1)
Customer Avatar
Anonymous
cleaning & seasoning the grill..
Posted November 25, 2011
do you season it w/oil after each use??? and how do you clean it??? With soap & water or just wipe it w/wet cloth???
0points
0of 0voted this comment as helpful.
Comments (1)
Comment (1)
Review 7 for 9 Serving Classic Plate Grill
Overall rating 
3 / 5
3 / 5

Easy to cook!

PostedMarch 19, 2011
Customer Avatar
Charlie
from Sullivan, Mo.
Gender: Male
Gift Purchase: As a gift
It easy to cook with this grill and I'm not a good cooker, just salt, garlic powder and pepper or seasonings, that it! on chicken or meat; they are my favorites, good with sandwichs too. Only problem, it take too long to clean.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 8 for 9 Serving Classic Plate Grill
Overall rating 
3 / 5
3 / 5

Cleaning

PostedMarch 14, 2011
Customer Avatar
qtpie
from St.Louis,Mo
This grill is fine for cooking but the clean up is a real pain. Evrything sticks to the plates and this takes forever to scrape.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Comment (1)
Comments (1)
Customer Avatar
PrincePoP
District Heights, MD
Even used, it's great!
Posted December 5, 2013
My roommate moved out and left me two George Foreman’s grill he owned - this model and a smaller version. Sweet, right!? Both needed cleaning, (yuck) he really didn’t like cooking and did so at times out of necessity. I’ve never asked him to use it since I’m particular about borrowing and using other people’s property. That’s because I take good care of my things and get bummed if it isn’t returned in the condition it was borrowed.
Upon cleaning this particular model I immediately notice that he must have previously cleaned it with steel wool. Ouch! Really, man? On the bottom lid a good portion of the non-stick coating was scratched off. Top lid was fine. After cleaning off the old buildup residue, drying it, I was ready to cook a couple of burgers. I took a folded paper towel, blotted it with cooking oil, and coated the bottom and top grill. Turned it on, heated up, drop da burgers, drop da lid. After the allotted cooking time I was impressed with the results. The burgers were cooked perfect as advertised like the commercials I watched years back; all without my turning my hamburger buns into a fat soaked sponge. Best part is the burgers didn’t stick, and clean up didn’t require the previous elbow work employed by me. I think wiping it down with cooking oiled helped.
Yes, even a used hand-me down George Foreman’s grill with the scratched off non-stick coating did the job. Only wished I listened to an old friend years ago who recommended buying one.
0points
0of 0voted this comment as helpful.
Comments (1)
Comment (1)
Review 9 for 9 Serving Classic Plate Grill
Overall rating 
3 / 5
3 / 5

Only One Major Flaw In This Grill

PostedFebruary 25, 2011
Customer Avatar
cwalker06
from Prairie du Sac, WI
Gender: Male
Gift Purchase: For myself
1st Purchase or Replacement: Replacement
Cook For Others: Yes
People Cooking For: 3-4
I like this grill. It does the trick when preparing foods such as burgers, chicken, etc. However, the major design flaw in this product is how ridiculously short the cord is! I had one of the small george foreman grills that was given to me about 9 years ago and the cord on that tiny grill was much longer than the cord on this family-size grill. What a horrible mistake on the part of the manufacturer. It really does take a lot away from the overall value of the product.
George, why did you let them mess up this great grill?!
-2points
0of 2voted this as helpful.
Comment (1)
Comments (1)
Customer Avatar
Anonymous
MIAMI FLORIDA
good when was working
Posted March 14, 2011
I BUT THIS GRILL WAS PERFECT UNTIL STOP WORKING..THIS ONE LAST AROUND 4 MONTHS..... I PUT MY STEAKS YESTERDAY AND AFTER 3 MINUTES THE GRILL TURN OFF ....I HAVE TO FINISH MY COOKING ON A PAN .... SO STRAIT TO THE GARBAGE CAN WENT THE GRILL......THANKS
-1point
0of 1voted this comment as helpful.
Comments (1)
Comment (1)
Review 10 for 9 Serving Classic Plate Grill
Overall rating 
2 / 5
2 / 5

Grill plates very awkward to clean

PostedMay 25, 2011
Customer Avatar
Chas
from California
Gender: Male
Gift Purchase: For myself
1st Purchase or Replacement: First-Time Purchase
Cook For Others: Yes
People Cooking For: 1-2
Cooking time is great. Heats up rapidly. Electric cord way too short. Grill plates are NOT removal, making cleaning them a real pain because of the size and heft of the unit as a whole. I would not buy this model again.
+1point
2of 3voted this as helpful.
Comment (1)
Comments (1)
Customer Avatar
Anonymous
Austin, TX
I had the original version of this one
Posted August 14, 2011
I had the original version of this one and that is the only thing I didn't like about it - however the function out weighed the fixed plates and trying to clean them. I had mine for about 10 years - my sons just moved out on their own and "stole" it from me, so I'm getting another one. I love using it especially in the summer when it is too hot to turn on the over or stove.
+1point
1of 1voted this comment as helpful.
Comments (1)
Comment (1)
Review 11 for 9 Serving Classic Plate Grill
Overall rating 
2 / 5
2 / 5

This product did not hold up.

PostedApril 9, 2011
Customer Avatar
lvs
from Waycross, Ga
Gender: Female
Gift Purchase: For myself
1st Purchase or Replacement: Replacement
Cook For Others: Yes
People Cooking For: 3-4
I have had several of the George Forman grills. I have always been satisfied with the product except the last two time .I bought the Grand Champ Family Value Grill and the coating on the grill plates peeled off and got on my food when I cooked it. I only had the last one since November 2010 and the very first time I cleaned it the coating came off in places. It makes it so hard to clean. I had the other grills for serveral years with no problem.Something must be wrong with this product.
0points
3of 6voted this as helpful.
Comment (1)
Comments (1)
Customer Avatar
Anonymous
coating
Posted January 10, 2012
Call them up and they will send you a new one
0points
0of 0voted this comment as helpful.
Comments (1)
Comment (1)
Review 12 for 9 Serving Classic Plate Grill
Overall rating 
1 / 5
1 / 5

Very Disappointed!

PostedAugust 7, 2012
Customer Avatar
Palmetto
from Charleston, SC
Gender: Female
I previously used a Hamilton Beach grill for several years. I had always wanted a true "Foreman" so my husband and I received one as an anniversary gift from my parents. This grill is awful. I have cooked everything from hotdogs, sausage, hamburgers, steak, vegetables, plain and marinated chicken. EVERYTHING has burned...from the start. It smells horrible as the food cooks, it smokes...almost as if the unit just gets too hot for the plates. I keep making attempts to cook something that does not turn black after just a few minutes. I feel terrible getting rid of this because of where it came from. I feel even more terrible that my parents spent so much $$ on it (not purchasing it on sale). The cleanup is actually the easiest part for me. On another note...I have the silver model...looks as though I have owned it for years instead of months. Anything that touches it scratches the silver off. Horrible!
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 13 for 9 Serving Classic Plate Grill
Overall rating 
1 / 5
1 / 5

Not Good

PostedFebruary 20, 2012
Customer Avatar
Dré
from Muncie, IN.
Gender: Male
Gift Purchase: For myself
1st Purchase or Replacement: Replacement
Cook For Others: Yes
People Cooking For: 3-4
We have own a GF grill from the very first one out. Our big GF grill with the temperature setting or slider was the best except the plates wouldn't remove for cleaning. I got this family value grill for Xmas. It is one of the worst one we have owned but the cooking area space is great. The temperature isn't consistance over the heating area. The back part of the heating area burns foods while the front part cooks slow even on the sides it cooks slow. No matter what you put on it to try not to get the food to stick it does anyway. Bad product
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 14 for 9 Serving Classic Plate Grill
Overall rating 
1 / 5
1 / 5

Will burn food

PostedDecember 19, 2010
Customer Avatar
cook
from Jacksonville, FL.
Gender: Female
Gift Purchase: For myself
1st Purchase or Replacement: Replacement
Cook For Others: Yes
People Cooking For: 3-4
Gets too hot. Will not regulate tempature, keeps getting hot.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Comments (3)
Comments (3)
Customer Avatar
Anonymous
Posted June 16, 2012
Too difficult to clean. Should have purchased something with removable plates.
0points
0of 0voted this comment as helpful.
Customer Avatar
Anonymous
Oklahoma
Harder to clean than the smaller ones
Posted February 20, 2011
I had a smaller George Foreman that I LOVED...so I invested in this one thinking that this would solve my dilemma when cooking most of my meal on the grill...which is what I do often. Much to my dismay it seems that I am spending so much time cleaning the grill, no matter whether I spray it or not...and around the edges where the grill separates I would rather just not use it. Unfortunately I gave my daughter my smaller grill and hate to ask for it back because she raves about it...guess I will go buy another small one..because I really did like it...wasted money..guess I can buy two of them...I also have had some problems with the grill getting too hot it seems...
0points
0of 0voted this comment as helpful.
Customer Avatar
Anonymous
Needs to be easier to clean...
Posted January 30, 2011
I love the way it cooks, but the hot plates are hard to clean... I wish they were able to slide on and off or snap on and off that way I could get a better, faster, and easier clean, but other than that it's a great grill.
0points
0of 0voted this comment as helpful.
Comments (3)
Comments (3)