Ratings and Reviews

Customer Reviews for 5 Serving Multi Plate Grill

5 Serving Multi Plate Grill

Medium black baking grill for more versatile cooking. Get the grill that lets you have an entire kitchen of versatility in just one compact appliance! Bake • Muffin starts with 4 plates – 2 grill plates, 1 deep-dish bake pan and 1 cupcake & muffin pan insert – then lets you build your collection with up to 7 additional plates available. It’s the perfect grill for anyone looking to expand their healthy cooking menu without cluttering counters with a lot of extra appliances.
Average Customer Rating:
4.05 / 5
4.1
 / 
5
(20 Reviews) 20
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Snapshot 20 reviews
5 stars
10
4 stars
5
3 stars
2
2 stars
2
1 star
1
17 out of 20(85%)reviewers would recommend this product.
Customer Reviews for 5 Serving Multi Plate Grill
Review 1 for 5 Serving Multi Plate Grill
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Love this appliance... but

PostedMarch 18, 2012
Customer Avatar
Shutterbug
from Iowa
Gender: Female
Gift Purchase: For myself
1st Purchase or Replacement: First-Time Purchase
Cook For Others: Yes
People Cooking For: 3-4
...PLEASE offer a cookbook or at least a recipe booklet. The instruction booklet is not very helpful. We have tried it for many things and we truly love this, but it has been a struggle to find what temperature or time to use. You offer temps for certain foods but no time suggestions... on other things you put the time but no temperature suggestions. Can be very frustrating. A better instruction booklet at the very least could get a person started off much better. Please consider this improvement. But we do love it for bacon, waffles, pizza, pork chops, hamburgers, chicken breasts... and we are still experimenting. Thank you!
+13points
13of 13voted this as helpful.
Comments (3)
Comments (3)
Customer Avatar
Anonymous
Webster, NY
Recipe Booklet
Posted August 29, 2012
I agree, there needs to be a recipe booklet for at least the recipes being shown on QVC. After all, that's what sold the product to us in the first place. I've been winging my way along, but it would be most helpful.
0points
0of 0voted this comment as helpful.
Customer Avatar
Anonymous
California
blueboybythesea
Posted August 24, 2012
When are you coming out with recipe book for this grill? The five basic ones in the manual are next to useless and I want to cook what I have seen on TV.
0points
0of 0voted this comment as helpful.
Customer Avatar
Anonymous
Lincoln NE
Posted April 23, 2012
I completely agree that we need a cookbook - or at the least a chart of temperatures and cooking times. I replaced my little original GF grill with the Evolve and love it - but don't love the having to experiment with temps and times.
0points
0of 0voted this comment as helpful.
Comments (3)
Comments (3)
Review 2 for 5 Serving Multi Plate Grill
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Wonderful grill

PostedJune 27, 2011
Customer Avatar
Chris
from Matthews NC
I noticed many reviews condemning this grill for cleaning methods and yet with a little common sense I have thoroughly enjoyed mine.. I find it very easy to clean and a joy to use.
+5points
5of 5voted this as helpful.
Review 3 for 5 Serving Multi Plate Grill
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

LOVE THIS GRILL

PostedJune 1, 2011
Customer Avatar
Luvstogrill
from Pa
Gender: Female
Gift Purchase: For myself
1st Purchase or Replacement: First-Time Purchase
Cook For Others: Yes
People Cooking For: 3-4
Bought this grill in January and have used it so much that I keep it out on the island. It cooks so well, saves time, and is so versatile. It makes Paninis so fast and they are delicious! I also use the grill to re-heat food, such as wings. They come out so crispy this way that they were better than original.
I have heard many complain about cleaning the top plate with the slant marks on it. I have no problem at all. My husband and I use a nylon brush that allows you to put detergent in the little stubby handle and it cleans it beautifully every time.
I would recommend this to anyone. Next time it's on sale, I'll be getting one for my parents. They make sandwiches in the toaster oven all the time, so this will save time as well.
Oh, quick note- When making Paninis, use olive oil instead of butter to save calories. I thought it would ruin the taste of sandwich, but it does not at all.
+10points
10of 10voted this as helpful.
Review 4 for 5 Serving Multi Plate Grill
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Product is great...but

PostedJanuary 30, 2011
Customer Avatar
Sandibeaches
from Ruidoso, NM
Gender: Female
Gift Purchase: For myself
1st Purchase or Replacement: Replacement
Cook For Others: Yes
People Cooking For: 1-2
We received our grill and extra plates this week and cannot be more pleased with the product. It cooks steaks perfectly and they came out tender and delicious. This morning, we attached the omelet plates so we could fix breakfast. Since there are no suggestions or recipes that include these plates we were somewhat at a loss as to how to fix omelets (temperature, time, etc.). I used the settings for scrambled eggs (350, 20 minutes) and proceeded to cook. I checked the omelets every few minutes to see if they were done and after about 10-12 minutes, they appeared done and, in fact, were perfect. This would certainly have been easier if there were some suggestions as to temperature and time for these plates. Also, the Evolve instruction manual lets you know how long to cook many foods but does not give you suggestions as to temperature. This would be a big improvement in the manual since the cost of the product is so much. Other than that, we love the product and have already recommended it to others.
+12points
12of 12voted this as helpful.
Review 5 for 5 Serving Multi Plate Grill
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Great Product

PostedJanuary 26, 2011
Customer Avatar
T-T
from Austin,Texas
Gender: Male
Gift Purchase: For myself
1st Purchase or Replacement: First-Time Purchase
Cook For Others: Yes
People Cooking For: 3-4
i found this product to be great for my first year of college in my dorm room. The contemporary look and performance makes this the hottest indoor grill on the market today. Simple touch temp controls make it so easy to use.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 6 for 5 Serving Multi Plate Grill
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

We Love This Grill!!

PostedJanuary 13, 2011
Customer Avatar
hate2cook
from Estacada, OR
Gender: Female
Gift Purchase: For myself
1st Purchase or Replacement: First-Time Purchase
Cook For Others: Yes
People Cooking For: 3-4
This grill is so easy to use and the removable plates make it a snap to clean up. I hate to cook but this makes it fast and easy. We've only had it a week but I've made lots of things in it, steak, chicken, fish, cookies, fried eggs, toast and lasagna. I've used it so much that when I told my mother I was making banana bread she asked if I was making it in the George Foreman. My only complaint is the cord could have been a little longer.
+2points
2of 2voted this as helpful.
Review 7 for 5 Serving Multi Plate Grill
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

This grill ROCKS!!!

PostedJanuary 13, 2011
Customer Avatar
lvs2cookh8s2cln
Gender: Female
Gift Purchase: As a gift
Kind of Gift: Holiday
Options Options Options! This GF is by far my fav I have used! I LOVE LOVE LOVE that you can remove both the top and bottom plates for easy clean up as well as to make waffles or muffins or a bake. I also love that you can adjust the tilt of the grill. I would always make kabobs without the stick and load my meat and veggies with sauce, with the old grill it would often slide right off, but with this beaut you can have the grill flat til you get your goodies on there, then close the lid securing the meat and veggies, and THEN tilt it. It is pretty awesome...and it is extremely easy to cook food to perfection with this grill. Thanks again GF :)
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 8 for 5 Serving Multi Plate Grill
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

We love our grill! Quick and easy to use!!

PostedJanuary 11, 2011
Customer Avatar
freida
from lake oswego, OR
Gender: Female
Gift Purchase: For myself
1st Purchase or Replacement: Replacement
Cook For Others: Yes
People Cooking For: 1-2
Our old Foreman Grill finally kicked the bucket, after years and years of faithful service. We stopped by our local kitchen goods store and this sleek beauty waiting for us. Oh boy, it works like a charm! I am not the best cook in our house and even I can cook chicken breasts to perfection.
:)
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Comment (1)
Comments (1)
Customer Avatar
Anonymous
Lenoir, NC
Unhappy Customer!!!
Posted October 13, 2012
I bought this product from QVC, only after 6 months it stopped working. Called and they sent me out a new one BUT its not the same color that I had purchased and it didn't come with all my grill plates that was included in my other one. I wish they would have just sent my money back!!! Too much hassle just for a GF grill.
0points
0of 0voted this comment as helpful.
Comments (1)
Comment (1)
Review 9 for 5 Serving Multi Plate Grill
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Very useful product!

PostedJanuary 8, 2011
Customer Avatar
aliza
from Dallas, Texas
Gender: Female
Gift Purchase: For myself
1st Purchase or Replacement: First-Time Purchase
Cook For Others: Yes
People Cooking For: 3-4
I bought this Evolve Grill 6 months ago, and we use it everyday. Cooks great and it leaves a grill line on meats! I like the fact that you can adjust the temperature and has the option of getting it high temperature for cooking steak! It cooks fast, very hot and even! And you need that for cooking meat. We don't have the waffle plate, and I would like to get one to replace our old messy waffle maker because the grill plate is so easy to wash by hand or putting it in dishwasher. When I bought this grill, we use to live with my parents house. Now me and my kids finally got our own home, I cant break my mothers heart to take it away from her because she uses it everyday too. Its so easy to cook on it I need it.
+2points
2of 2voted this as helpful.
Review 10 for 5 Serving Multi Plate Grill
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

This product is very versatile

PostedDecember 19, 2010
Customer Avatar
JennS
from Toledo, OH
Gender: Female
Gift Purchase: As a gift
Kind of Gift: Wedding
I received this as a wedding gift and I can't tell you how many times I've used it. I really love it!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 11 for 5 Serving Multi Plate Grill
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5

Love it but...

PostedOctober 28, 2013
Customer Avatar
Grandmadi
from Kern County
Gender: Female
Gift Purchase: For myself
1st Purchase or Replacement: Replacement
Cook For Others: Yes
People Cooking For: 3-4
Certainly is not for 5 servings except maybe hot dogs. Booklet does not give required temps and that would be very nice to know. The grill itself is great and so far everything we have tried has been very good. Had a really old grill that was difficult to clean but this on is a snap. Love it
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 12 for 5 Serving Multi Plate Grill
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5

Cooks Quickly and retains the moisture of the food

PostedMay 18, 2012
Customer Avatar
Cooking Diva
from Los Angeles
Gender: Female
Gift Purchase: For myself
1st Purchase or Replacement: Replacement
Cook For Others: Yes
People Cooking For: 1-2
This is my second George Foreman. My husband gouged the plate of my old George Foreman and the nonstick is gradually coming off of that grill. I liked the new grill so much I bought one and all the plates as a wedding gift for a friend.
I love most of the features of the grill. The directions advise us to not use nonstick spray so, I spray a light coating of oil from my cooking oil mister when I notice foods are sticking a little. This is pure oil without any chemicals and it seems to do the trick. The nonstick is easier to clean including the cross hatch plate. I use a plastic brush with a little dishsoap on it. The food easily comes out of the corners of the upper cross hatch plate.
I bought all the plates and am gradually using each set of plates to learn the grill. It does an excellent job most of the time. I am frustrated in that the directions are insufficient. I use common sense for the temperature setting. The directions for the plates state not to overload the plate. Well, I have tried the omelet plate twice now. Since I do not have a recipe to follow, I do not know what amount of beaten egg to place in the plate. I have overflowed twice now. Please, Please, Please give us some recipes with our plate purchases. This is the reason I can not give 5 stars. Also, the recipes on the website were a good start for us. Please bring the blog back.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 13 for 5 Serving Multi Plate Grill
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5

We are enjoying our Evolve grill !!!

PostedMarch 31, 2011
Customer Avatar
Chief Cook and Bottle-Washer
from Clarkton, NC
Gender: Female
Gift Purchase: For myself
1st Purchase or Replacement: Replacement
Cook For Others: Yes
People Cooking For: 1-2
User submitted photo
User submitted photo
(A) My first "Evolve" came with lightweight hinges that were loose and wobbly and wouldn't allow the top to sit squarely on the base. However, I was sent a replacement that had improved, much stronger hinges. Wonderful!! P.S. I baked some brownies in the deep dish pan @ 350° for 20 minutes – they were super!!
(B) Instructions say the plates are dishwasher safe. The plates themselves, yes, but the coating a definite no. NEVER put non-stick coated cookware in a dishwasher (sorry, George!!). Dishwasher heat and detergent are too strong for non-stick coating. Over a period of time, the heat and soap will dry the coating and cause it to wear off prematurely. Anytime you need to wash the plates, use only warm water and light dish soap. Soak if need be. Rinse, then pat dry with a soft absorbent cloth or paper towel. Then take a drizzle of vegetable oil and rub it in. This will keep your plates seasoned, the way they should be, and ready for the next use.
(C) Please replace the cross-hatch plate, or offer a substitution. It is the ONLY reason I didn't give the grill 5 stars. The cross-hatch plate is difficult, tedious, and frustrating to clean - too many tiny corners that need attention. (Again, the dishwasher is not the way to clean plates with non-stick coating.) After I wash it, I have to use a basting brush coated with vegetable oil to get into the corners, which takes quite a bit of time. Including a regular grill plate for the top instead of the cross-hatch would be a much better choice for the grill/plates package.
+11points
11of 11voted this as helpful.
Comments (4)
Comments (4)
Customer Avatar
Anonymous
I love it !!!
Posted August 14, 2011
I got it like four month ago and I use every day ( monday to friday) I do our breakfast and lunch in the morning at the same time for two people just in 15 minutes, that great !!! Easy to use, perfect side, the only complaint I have for this grill is the cross-hatch plate, that grill plate is a kind of difficult to clean, please guys change that plate for a regular one, if you do that this grill will be complpetly perfect !!! Any way beside that little problem ( the cross-hatch plate ) I will recomend because is so fast to cook, healthy because you can see tha fat dropping on the drip trays and not occupy much space in the kitcken counter.
0points
0of 0voted this comment as helpful.
Customer Avatar
Anonymous
ft lauderdale
cleaning
Posted April 30, 2011
they now sell sponges that are specially made to get the plates clean. have not purchased them yet but i am going to
0points
0of 0voted this comment as helpful.
Customer Avatar
Anonymous
txgym
Posted April 29, 2011
I agree about the cross hatch grill. It is absolutely HORRIBLE to clean. I threw away my last grill simply because of the cross hatch and I will NEVER buy another one that has it!
0points
0of 0voted this comment as helpful.
Customer Avatar
Anonymous
Posted April 18, 2011
Thanks for the tip on seasoning the plate(s). Once I get it home, I will definitely (hopefully) remember this step :)
0points
0of 0voted this comment as helpful.
Comments (4)
Comments (4)
Review 14 for 5 Serving Multi Plate Grill
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5

Wish the plates were ceramic, but still great.

PostedFebruary 22, 2011
Customer Avatar
laura
from new york, ny
We're trying to stay away from using teflon in our cooking and replaced all our teflon pans with non-stick ceramic coating pans that are PFOA and PTFE free. In my opinion they work even better than teflon with their non-stick properties and they are healthy to cook on. We've been unable to find a grill of this quality with removeable plates that is not teflon so we went ahead and bought it and we're happy with the purchase.
+1point
2of 3voted this as helpful.
Review 15 for 5 Serving Multi Plate Grill
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5

Easy and Convenient

PostedJanuary 29, 2011
Customer Avatar
Dalia
from New York, N.Y.
I just got this grill and love it. It is so easy to use and convenient. It saves me time in the kitchen. Cooking time is perfect, the steaks come out tasteful. I am still learning how to use the grill, I made waffles but they stuck a little. I have 6 plates and I like that and I can't wait to bake in it. I would recommend this grill to everyone. I had the original George Forman grill and this one is the best.
-1point
0of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 16 for 5 Serving Multi Plate Grill
Overall rating 
3 / 5
3 / 5

Just got it a few weeks ago.

PostedFebruary 7, 2011
Customer Avatar
Bea
from Maine
Gender: Female
Gift Purchase: For myself
1st Purchase or Replacement: Replacement
Cook For Others: No
People Cooking For: 1-2
I think I will like this when I figure it out. Not enough information for all the plates. ie: temps for waffles, eggs, etc. I would like to know the pre-heat/cooking temps for all the plates. The directions are not well done. Waffle plate w/o waffle instructions. I have owned several grills and thought this one would be a step up. How about a cookbook and soon.
+4points
4of 4voted this as helpful.
Review 17 for 5 Serving Multi Plate Grill
Overall rating 
3 / 5
3 / 5

Great product, one problem!

PostedJanuary 20, 2011
Customer Avatar
Forman4Life
Gender: Male
Gift Purchase: For myself
1st Purchase or Replacement: First-Time Purchase
Cook For Others: Yes
People Cooking For: More than 6
I enjoy this product. I have been using it for a few months now. I have all of the 11 plates that are available. The problem that I have found is when I am using the grill plates that it is a real pain to clean the top grill plate. If they had a top plate that matched the bottom plate I would buy that for sure. I do not need a fancy design on my steak I would prefer to have straight lines which would allow the cleaning process to be much easier. I still enjoy the product and use it a few times a week however that would be my suggestion would be to get a top grill plate that is easier to clean.
+4points
4of 4voted this as helpful.
Review 18 for 5 Serving Multi Plate Grill
Overall rating 
2 / 5
2 / 5

This can be a great product IF:

PostedJanuary 20, 2012
Customer Avatar
EnjoyGrilling
from Edison,NJ
Gender: Female
Gift Purchase: For myself
1st Purchase or Replacement: First-Time Purchase
Cook For Others: Yes
People Cooking For: 3-4
Although I enjoy this grill, it's a pain in the neck to clean especially the top part where they have this new design! I baked on this grill and it has accumulated the sugars. So it has caramelized and its so hard to clean around those edges. I'm thinking of doing a you-tube on this to show how complicated it is to clean the top part of this grill! I purchased it in June and I've been trying to clean it while the grill is still hot and unplugged with hot paper towels and a butter knife to try to get into the grooves of their so called "new design." If there is another design made for the top insert then I'd say it was a genius design. Allow the clients to pick the top as you allow the different plates for the bottom. Its just as easy to design a plain top portion and this way, we would not have to ask for product replacement for the top piece. For those who grill a lot and would love to use it for baking.. get ready for ongoing and continuous cleaning of the top portion. There will always be black stuff stuck to to top of the grill. I don't know the result of having blackened stuff on your food is good or not... but be prepared to really giving it ongoing cleaning if you are an avid user of the grill. Don't get me wrong.. I do enjoy it but I'm careful and have to use parchment paper. Do we want this or can we ask the designers to design a new top piece? Please ask people who really use the grill to test out your products because baking was a great concept but cleaning that top grill is ridiculous and in my case is impossible and need a new replacement piece. I'd love for someone from the company to address this issue and respond.
+4points
4of 4voted this as helpful.
Review 19 for 5 Serving Multi Plate Grill
Overall rating 
2 / 5
2 / 5

manuel is no help

PostedMay 22, 2011
Customer Avatar
gunner
from Texas
Gender: Male
Gift Purchase: For myself
no info no cooking times or tempeture except for baking. but if you go by there times and temps it is overcooked and dryed out with burnt edges
+1point
3of 5voted this as helpful.
Review 20 for 5 Serving Multi Plate Grill
Overall rating 
1 / 5
1 / 5

TERRIBLE QUALITY!!!

PostedFebruary 23, 2011
Customer Avatar
Sean
from Vista, CA
Gender: Male
Gift Purchase: For myself
1st Purchase or Replacement: First-Time Purchase
Cook For Others: Yes
People Cooking For: 1-2
User submitted photo
I purchased this grille about 6 weeks ago, full retail from Target. I did my research and read many negative reviews about this product including comments about it being difficult to clean as well as comments about the "nonstick" coming off after a period of time. I ignored those comments. I should not have. This product is terrible, at any price.
I've never seen a worse "nonstick" product in my life. not only does it ruin all fish fillets as they stick to the plates, it's impossible to clean. It does not come clean no matter what you try. Dishwasher does not clean it suffeciently. I've tried soaking the plates for hours, with no help. It's just terrible quality of coating. I've used this thing probably 8 times, and the coating is starting to come off. I have pans in my cubbord that I've used for 10 years that still have the coating.
I would take this back to Target immediately if I had the receipt, which I have lost. I did notice that they no longer carry this model, only 6 weeks after I bought it. Maybe a sign...
It's sad this product is so bad, I had expected more from the George Foreman name. See pick attached of the final piece of fish I will cook on this grille. A $6 Halibut fillet ruined by this product.
+8points
13of 18voted this as helpful.
Comments (2)
Comments (2)
Customer Avatar
Anonymous
Regarding Target returns comment
Posted June 21, 2011
For future reference, you don't need a receipt to return something at Target...they can look up your purchase without it if you used a check, gift card, or debit/credit card for payment. The only time a receipt is required is if you paid cash, and if you do that, it's always a good idea to keep your receipts in a safe place because you don't have the extra protections provided by the card issuers. I think in that situation, Target offers assistance with warranty/repair issues, also, if that applies.
0points
0of 0voted this comment as helpful.
Customer Avatar
Anonymous
Wildomar, Ca 50 miles north of Vista
T. Burch
Posted June 10, 2011
f this person has pans 10 years old with coating still on them, it totally means he doesn't use them much. I am 56+ years old, been cooking since I was 12 and NO coating lasts that long when regularly used on a daily basis. Also I have the same model and it is readily available at ALOT of stores plus you can still buy all the accessories. This guy needs to do much more research because ALL his facts are completely wrong!
-2points
0of 2voted this comment as helpful.
Comments (2)
Comments (2)