Ratings and Reviews
Shop Now At George Foreman Cooking
Shop Medium Grills or
Choose a Category

Customer Reviews for George Foreman G5 Grill

This product is no longer available. Continue shopping at George Foreman Cooking.

George Foreman G5 Grill

The G5 GRP90WGR is a multi-purpose grill that lets you knock out the fat™ while grilling and gives you the ability to cook waffles as well as anything you can dream up with the griddle / bake plate.
Average Customer Rating:
4.4 / 5
4.4
 / 
5
(20 Reviews) 20
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Snapshot 20 reviews
5 stars
10
4 stars
8
3 stars
2
2 stars
0
1 star
0
18 out of 20(90%)reviewers would recommend this product.
Customer Reviews for G5 Grill
Review 1 for G5 Grill
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Everything you need in one product

PostedFebruary 8, 2012
Customer Avatar
GrillingNut
from Franklin,Pa.
Gender: Male
Gift Purchase: As a gift
Kind of Gift: Holiday
I recieved mine as a gift 4 years ago and use it at least 2-3 times a week and even more than that during the winter months. I hope it stays on the market for a long time because I will definitely be buying another one when the time comes.The removable plates are great.
+5points
5of 5voted this as helpful.
Review 2 for G5 Grill
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

I love this Grill

PostedJanuary 31, 2012
Customer Avatar
AllieKat
from Lewisberry, PA
Gender: Female
Gift Purchase: For myself
1st Purchase or Replacement: First-Time Purchase
Cook For Others: Yes
People Cooking For: 3-4
I originally bought my George Foreman for myself when I was out on my own. Due to the poor economy I was forced to move back in with my parents. My dad is a grilling maniac. He would stand outside in the snow trying to grill chicken and steak with his very large propane grill. Now that he found my George Foreman he never goes outside anymore. He uses it every day. He actually used it so much that I had to fight him to get it back when I moved out again. So I ended up buying him one for christmas this year. He loved it!!! He actually cried when I gave it to him. Like I said who doesn't love this grill.
+6points
6of 6voted this as helpful.
Review 3 for G5 Grill
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

GREAT Gift - used (almost) every day for years

PostedNovember 19, 2011
Customer Avatar
ThriftyMama
from Missouri
Gender: Female
Gift Purchase: As a gift
Kind of Gift: Holiday
First tip: NEVER use non-stick spray on your grill....EVER! Non-stick spray is difficult to remove when it gums up. Look at baking pans where you've used non-stick spray. You can try to make a wet paste of baking soda and let it rest on the plates for 10-15 minutes then GENTLY brush with a toothbrush and rinse. You must cover the plates and it must be wet, like a slushy. But wait the 15 minutes and if some remains do the process over or just use it again and do the baking soda mixture until it is all gone. Be sure to brush on oil every time until the gummy coating is gone. After the coating is gone you really won't need oil unless you cook something with suger in it, like meat with a marinade.
I make waffles in bulk on the weekend and and toast them during the week. That 30 minutes saves me hours in the week. I undercook them a little then freeze in a zipper freezer bag. But you can make waffles with bacon, or sweet with cinnamon, or just put in your favorite muffin, cookie, or brownie recipe. I cook refrigerator cinnamon rolls with the waffle plates too. YUM! They cook in 2-3 minutes on the high setting. When you frost them, the frosting melts but STAYS in the waffle dents. Honestly they taste better that way. But panini's, grilled meat & fish, veggies, ALL cook perfectly in the grill and take much less time. I even cook cornbread in the waffle plates if I am running low on time before dinner. Freeze meat in individual portions so you can throw the frozen meat on the grill without thawing. I never thaw hamburger patties anymore. So a few minutes of prep can save you HOURS.
This is a great product and is easy to clean. I just place 2-3 paper towels soaked in water between the hot plates and let them steam for a minute before unplugging. It makes cleanup a breeze! I use coconut oil or butter brushed on the plates when I want the flavor but it really isn't needed to cook the food. GREAT product! This has SAVED me money that I could have spent on take out.
+15points
17of 19voted this as helpful.
Comment (1)
Comments (1)
Customer Avatar
Anonymous
Bakersfield. Ca.
Love this grill! except
Posted January 22, 2012
wish upper plate was like the ez clean grill with straight grill patern. It has a patern that is a little hard to clean. I use the grill about 4 or more days a week, waffles, pankakes, hamburgers, etc. like most people. Also wish it had a grease catcher that was bigger and locked to the unit. Other than that this is a great product, and even the kids have learned to use it. But they leave the cleaning for me. LOL.
0points
0of 0voted this comment as helpful.
Comments (1)
Comment (1)
Review 4 for G5 Grill
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Love this

PostedSeptember 16, 2011
Customer Avatar
cooker
from Fort Worth
Gender: Female
Gift Purchase: As a gift
Kind of Gift: Housewarming
so esy to cook with and it offers so many ways to cook. As far as cleaning goes, the instruction books states not to use non-stick spray. I ignored that the first time and cleaning it was terrible. Now I cook without it and things work great - the food slides right off. The top plate requires a little more work. I use a scrub brush and it gets perfectly clean. I have had mine for at least 3 years now and will be buying one for a relative soon. I still have no problems.
-4points
8of 20voted this as helpful.
Review 5 for G5 Grill
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Use it several times weekly

PostedMay 18, 2011
Customer Avatar
DudMc3
from Northern California
Gender: Male
Gift Purchase: As a gift
Acquired it as a gift in June 2007. Almost four years later it is still performing well. Practically a replacement for the outdoor gas grill; we use it 1-3 times a week. The non-stick coating a while back wore out and I'm ready to purchase a replacement top plate. But soaking the plates in hot water for a bit followed by scrubbing with the special George Foreman grill sponge removes the residue with only moderate effort. The waffle maker plates make nice, big waffles everyone enjoys week after week; no additional waffle iron is in the kitchen cabinet any more. I had to open up the top half and remedy a loose electrical connection a year ago (that's out of warranty and my own risk of course), and some screws need tightening once a year. Well, well worth the money.
+6points
7of 8voted this as helpful.
Comment (1)
Comments (1)
Customer Avatar
Anonymous
chicago, il
non-stick coating
Posted November 25, 2011
you are not supposed to soak anything that has a non-stick coating in water - that is probably why your non-stick coating wore off while the non-stick coating on some of the other reviewers' grills is still intact after several years; this is how my mother ruined her bread machine pan
+1point
1of 1voted this comment as helpful.
Comments (1)
Comment (1)
Review 6 for G5 Grill
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Love my Foreman grill

PostedJanuary 20, 2011
Customer Avatar
LoveMy4Man
from Houston, TX
Gender: Female
Gift Purchase: For myself
1st Purchase or Replacement: First-Time Purchase
Cook For Others: Yes
People Cooking For: 3-4
We have had this grill for almost 5 years, and it's getting to be about time to replace it. It gets regular use for cooking hamburgers and bacon..... we have certainly gotten our money's worth out of it. I love having the removable plates and would not go any other way.
+3points
5of 7voted this as helpful.
Review 7 for G5 Grill
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

This grill is fast & easy to use

PostedJanuary 19, 2011
Customer Avatar
Love to cook
from New York
Gender: Female
Gift Purchase: For myself
1st Purchase or Replacement: Replacement
Cook For Others: Yes
People Cooking For: 1-2
This grill is fast and easy to use. I love the fact that you are not cooking in all that grease. I love to make sandwiches on this grill - it only takes a few minutes and you have a perfectly grilled sandwich. It is amazing how much grease collects in the tray even though I thought the meat was "low fat" content.
+2points
3of 4voted this as helpful.
Review 8 for G5 Grill
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Love it

PostedJanuary 17, 2011
Customer Avatar
jewels
from ottawa, ON
Gender: Female
Gift Purchase: For myself
1st Purchase or Replacement: Replacement
Cook For Others: No
People Cooking For: 1-2
I really enjoy and love the fact that the plates are removable and easy to clean. Easy to use.
0points
2of 4voted this as helpful.
Review 9 for G5 Grill
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Best I ever had

PostedJanuary 10, 2011
Customer Avatar
oceansrazor
from Langley, BC
Gender: Male
Gift Purchase: For myself
1st Purchase or Replacement: First-Time Purchase
Cook For Others: Yes
People Cooking For: 3-4
"This is the best gift I have ever received from my best best friends. I was really touched to have received it because they all know I'm currently on a healthy diet now and this is a perfect design where oil and grease are dripped down from the meat.
Other than goign to gym, this cook pan certainly add a lot of values to my diet. We opened it and used it right after on our NYE party and everyone ate very happily!
The only thing is that the oil pan is a bit too small. A bigger one would make the cooking experience more convenient.
Overall, the rationale behind is perfect!"
 
My product recommendations
G5 Grill
4.4 out of 5(20)
 
 
 
G-broil Supreme
3 out of 5(7)
 
 
 
 
 
+3points
4of 5voted this as helpful.
Review 10 for G5 Grill
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

All in one dynamo

PostedDecember 13, 2010
Customer Avatar
Dfrost05
from Scranton,Pa
Gender: Male
Gift Purchase: For myself
1st Purchase or Replacement: First-Time Purchase
Cook For Others: Yes
People Cooking For: 1-2
Grills, Griddle, and Wafflemaker. What more do you need. 3 years and running perfect awesome for the college or apartment where space is at a minimum.
+2points
3of 4voted this as helpful.
Comment (1)
Comments (1)
Customer Avatar
Anonymous
Texas
Great product
Posted April 22, 2011
My original, small George Foreman grill was damaged during a water leak and had to be replaced. I chose the G5 because of the size and the removable plates. After a year of use, I feel it was a great buy!! I love it and cook entire meals on it. I learned one valuable lesson though, DO NOT spray the surface with a non-stick spray!! It took nearly an hour to get the smoke out of the kitchen!
As far as cleaning the top plate, I put two wet paper towels on the grill and close the lid as soon as I finish using it and unplug it. Then when I do the dishes, I use a non-abrasive, soft bristled brush to clean the top plate. It works like a charm. I am hoping to add extra plates to it if they are available. And, I would love to see more recipes for it.
+1point
1of 1voted this comment as helpful.
Comments (1)
Comment (1)
Review 11 for G5 Grill
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5

I don't like top grill plate

PostedJanuary 21, 2012
Customer Avatar
crazycookinggirl
from Taunton MA
Gender: Female
Gift Purchase: For myself
1st Purchase or Replacement: Replacement
Cook For Others: Yes
People Cooking For: 3-4
The concept of having removable plates is great,however that top grill plate is terrible to clean. What I don't understand is that the bottom grill plate is a breeze to clean and on the grills w/non-removable plates have this on top and bottom. But the ones you can remove, they make it harder to clean anyways. I think they should have the same plate on top as on the bottom. Otherwise it is great
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 12 for G5 Grill
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5

Worked great, easy clean-up

PostedNovember 19, 2011
Customer Avatar
jelley2
from Tennessee
Gender: Female
Gift Purchase: For myself
1st Purchase or Replacement: First-Time Purchase
Cook For Others: Yes
People Cooking For: 1-2
Cooked a pound of bacon and two steaks today after purchase. Worked great, easy to clean up! I was disappointed that there were no recipes, cooking instructions or suggested cooking times included in package. Was mine just missing? I only had the basic operating/safety instructions. I was pretty much on my own, and had to go to the internet to determine what temperature to use and how long to cook.
+3points
5of 7voted this as helpful.
Review 13 for G5 Grill
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5

Best grill for indoors

PostedJuly 28, 2011
Customer Avatar
Grilling Queen
from Chambersburg, PA
Gender: Female
Gift Purchase: As a gift
Kind of Gift: Wedding
I selected this grill for my bridal registry because I wanted to replace a smaller version my husband had. I was excited when my relatives got us the grill. I love and it cooks so quickly. My husband loves to use it to make waffles, but I like to grill chicken and burgers.
-1point
0of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 14 for G5 Grill
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5

if only my plates were safe

PostedMarch 12, 2011
Customer Avatar
Happy grilling
from KY
Gender: Female
Gift Purchase: As a gift
Kind of Gift: Holiday
This is the best thing that has ever happened to me. I use it for nearly every meal! I only wish there was a carrying case to keep the plates that I'm not using safe from time and children.
-2points
0of 2voted this as helpful.
Review 15 for G5 Grill
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5

PostedMarch 9, 2011
Customer Avatar
Ruth
from PA
Gender: Female
Gift Purchase: For myself
1st Purchase or Replacement: Replacement
Cook For Others: No
People Cooking For: 1-2
I love this grill. I use it almost daily and love that I can remove plates and put in dishwasher. I screwed up and left the grill on when I wenrt to work and now the plates very hard to clean. The only reason I did not give this a 5 star rating is because you can buy omlet plates but apparently not the ones you use daily. Very disapointing.
0points
1of 2voted this as helpful.
Review 16 for G5 Grill
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5

Love the interchangeable plates, but...

PostedMarch 5, 2011
Customer Avatar
SopranoMFF
from Atlanta, GA
Gender: Female
Gift Purchase: For myself
1st Purchase or Replacement: Replacement
Cook For Others: Yes
People Cooking For: 1-2
I have really enjoyed using my George Foreman G5, and want to continue using it! However, the grill plates have gradually become NOT non-stick - we use them a lot - and there seems to be no way to replace individual plates without replacing the whole grill - which seems a waste. The grill plates are now very difficult to clean, requiring hours of soaking (even though we are using non-stick spray), and then still having charred bits stuck to them. I looked at the Evolve grill but the only plates available for purchase are the "unusual" ones - the grill/panini plates don't seem to be obtainable by themselves, so I would think I would run into the same problem with it.
+2points
5of 8voted this as helpful.
Comments (2)
Comments (2)
Customer Avatar
Anonymous
chicago, il
non-stick
Posted November 25, 2011
do not soak things that are non-stick! it destroys the non-stick coating
0points
0of 0voted this comment as helpful.
Customer Avatar
Anonymous
Same here
Posted April 20, 2011
I have had the grill for years and LOVE it but I am having the same problem, the non-stikness is gone. I have been looking everywhere for new grilling plates. :-(
0points
0of 0voted this comment as helpful.
Comments (2)
Comments (2)
Review 17 for G5 Grill
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5

Great grill

PostedJanuary 30, 2011
Customer Avatar
JDBreeze1
from Connecticut
Gender: Male
Gift Purchase: For myself
1st Purchase or Replacement: Replacement
Had this grill for 4 years, and it's simply great. It cooks a variety of foods well. The only thing is, over time the plates become difficult to clean - the top grill plate especially, since there are teeth sticking out from the grill lines. It's at the point now where sometimes I open the grill and my meat is stuck to the top plate - it's not so non-stick anymore. I think I am going to buy a 360 grill because the top plate ont aht one has the straight lines. But the G5 served me well.
+5points
6of 7voted this as helpful.
Review 18 for G5 Grill
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5

this is a great multi-purpose product

PostedDecember 27, 2010
Customer Avatar
g5lover13
Gender: Female
Gift Purchase: As a gift
Kind of Gift: Holiday
We really enjoy using the G5. Bought for husband 3 years ago and it is still performing great! This was an upgrade from the originl model, which was gard to clean & the surface coating shed, the G5 has removable plates that clean nicely and we've had no shedding. Our most utilized plates are the waffle and the flat plates, although we have used all 5 plates with no problems. The only thing to be careful about is the plastic lock mechanisms, they willl shatter easily, so use care in handling and during wash.
+2points
3of 4voted this as helpful.
Review 19 for G5 Grill
Overall rating 
3 / 5
3 / 5

Great Grill however

PostedMay 13, 2011
Customer Avatar
MrWryt
from Biloxi, MS
Gender: Male
Gift Purchase: For myself
1st Purchase or Replacement: First-Time Purchase
Cook For Others: No
People Cooking For: 1-2
I'll began with the negative:
The non-stick coating is a joke. I've had my grill for almost 1 yr. Since first use, I have coated the plates heavily with non-stick spray. You will have to scrub to get the residue off but you can't scrub because you want to preserve the protective coating that FAILED you causing the need for hard scrubbing. The top plate is impossible to clean because of the ridge pattern. The bottom pan is nice, simple, straight lines. The top is a very useless straight lined, branches pattern. So once you get that nice permanent coat of burn on your top plate your options are buy another plate or pretend that the black residue doesn't bother you. Soaking doesn't work nor does the scolding hot water of your dish washer.
Love the grill tho. It cooks great. The temp control is a winner. I use 2-3 because all I use it for is poultry and steak.
+4points
7of 10voted this as helpful.
Comments (6)
Comments (6)
Customer Avatar
Anonymous
Indiana
non-stick spray
Posted August 16, 2012
The problem is that you used non-stick spray and gummed up the plate surfaces. That stuff is hard to get off. I've used my grill almost daily for years, and still just wipe it up with a warm damp cloth or paper towel..
There are some reviews here that give suggestions for how to get the non-stick spray residue off of the plates. You might try one of them to clean the grill.
0points
0of 0voted this comment as helpful.
Customer Avatar
Anonymous
Never Use Cooking Spray
Posted October 24, 2011
Never, ever, ever use cooking spray on non-stick surfaces. It has the opposite effect. If spray is not used and directions are followed the food slides off/out. Have used and tested all the George Foreman products and I know from where I speak.
0points
0of 0voted this comment as helpful.
Customer Avatar
Anonymous
ohio
brjwl
Posted August 4, 2011
I agree with MrWryt. Everything is sticking and it's hard to clean.. I have had mine longer and do use it a lot... The top plate is a joke to clean... About to toss it in the trash.. Do love it, though.. Just don't like to clean it...
0points
0of 0voted this comment as helpful.
Customer Avatar
Anonymous
no disrespect intended
Posted August 4, 2011
First rule of modern non-stick cookware: NEVER use cooking spray. The fine spray leaves a residue that bakes onto the non-stick coating that is very tough to remove. If you season non-stick cookware as per manufacturers directions (usually a light coat of oil, not sprayed, and sometimes not recommended at all), you would never have this problem. I used a GF grill for 5 years and have never had a problem with the cooking surface or sticking; I recently gave it to my mother as I intend to buy a larger cooking surface GF grill--they are wonderful!
+2points
2of 2voted this comment as helpful.
Customer Avatar
Anonymous
CT
Posted May 24, 2011
no disrespect but i have never had to coat the plates at all and the top grill with the ridges......I use a soft toothbrush and it works fine as long as u clean them when they have cooled I have had 3 or 4 george foreman grills over the past 10-15 years and have never ever had a problem or never ever needed to coat them with fish chicken and i just got upgraded this mothers day and I love making waffles....I may not eat them but they come out awesommme with no coating at all
+1point
1of 1voted this comment as helpful.
Customer Avatar
Anonymous
NJ
Cleaning tip
Posted May 21, 2011
I really enjoy my G5, but agree that the top grill plate is difficult to clean. What I have found helpful in cleaning it is to use a toothbrush. It helps to get in the crevices, and it also helps to soak the plate a bit first to soften any residue. I have a toothbrush in the kitchen dedicated to cleaning such things.
+1point
1of 1voted this comment as helpful.
Comments (6)
Comments (6)
Review 20 for G5 Grill
Overall rating 
3 / 5
3 / 5

Cleaning nightmare!

PostedApril 21, 2011
Customer Avatar
AlaskanShopper
from Alaska
Gender: Female
Gift Purchase: For myself
1st Purchase or Replacement: First-Time Purchase
Cook For Others: Yes
People Cooking For: 3-4
This product does leach off the extra grease and cooks burgers quickly. However, the upper grill plate is especially difficult to clean with all the tiny angles... would be better to have top plate the same pattern as the bottom plate.
+2points
4of 6voted this as helpful.
Comments (2)
Comments (2)
Customer Avatar
Anonymous
George foram grille
Posted June 18, 2011
Top upper plate hard to clean don't they have some kind of pad to clean it without runing the surface.
0points
0of 0voted this comment as helpful.
Customer Avatar
Anonymous
Canada
Posted May 14, 2011
agree!
0points
0of 0voted this comment as helpful.
Comments (2)
Comments (2)